friends of fulham

league teams season 2024/25

Tottenham Hotspur
Spurs, the Lilywhites
home shirt
away shirt
EST: 1882
GROUND: Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
MANAGER: Ange Postecoglou

Boys from Hotspur Cricket Club and the local grammar club formed Hotspur FC in 1882. The name was changed to Tottenham Hotspur in 1884. Three years later, they played their first north London derby, but the match was called off after 15 minutes "owing to darkness" - Spurs were beating Arsenal 2-1.

The club turned professional in 1885, but didn't join the football league until 1908. In the meantime, they became the only non-league team to win the FA Cup (in 1901) since the formation of the Football League in 1888.

Spurs became perceived as a big club when Bill Nicholson took over in 1958. He won his first match 10-4 - a sign of what was to come. In his 16 years at the club, Spurs won eight major trophies - becoming the first club in the 20th century to complete the league and cup 'double' in 1961 and the first British team to win a major European competition in 1963.

Further league success eluded Spurs and, following Nicholson's retirement, they even spent a brief stint in the Second Division in 1977/78. Their ethos of playing attacking football continued though - players that wowed the White Hart Lane faithful include Ossie Ardiles, Glenn Hoddle, Paul Gascoigne and Gary Lineker.