friends of fulham

league teams season 2023/24

Manchester City
the Blues
Man City
home shirt
away shirt
EST: 1880
GROUND: Etihad Stadium
MANAGER: Pep Guardiola

In 1880, St Mark's Church established Manchester City FC which moved to Hyde Road seven years later and was renamed Ardwick AFC to reflect its new location. The club joined the Football League as founding members of the Second Division in 1892, and after experiencing financial difficulties in the 1893/94 campaign, were reformed as Manchester City FC.

The first major honour arrived in April 1904 when a 1-0 victory over Bolton Wanderers secured the FA Cup. A fire in 1920 destroyed the Main Stand at Hyde Road and in 1923, the club moved to Maine Road in Moss Side, where they played in front of crowds of more than 70,000.

After winning the FA Cup again in 1934, the club won the league title for the first time three years later. Manchester City were relegated from the First Division in 1938 despite scoring more goals than any other team.

City have won the FA Cup four times, with the 1956 triumph over Birmingham City notable for goalkeeper Bert Trautmann continuing to play on despite unknowingly breaking his neck. A second title was claimed under the joint management of Joe Mercer and Malcolm Allison in 1968, with a dramatic 4-3 win at Newcastle United. They won the FA Cup in 1969 and the European Cup Winners' Cup a year later, followed by the League Cup in 1976.