friends of fulham

league teams season 2021/22

Huddersfield Town AFC
the Terriers
Huddersfield Town
home shirt
away shirt
EST: 1908
GROUND: The John Smith's Stadium
MANAGER: Carlos Corberán

Huddersfield Town Association Football Club is based in Huddersfield, West Yorkshire. Founded on 15 August 1908, it entered the Football League in 1910. The team currently compete in the Championship, the second tier of English football.

Huddersfield became the first English club to win three successive English league titles in 1925–26. The first two league titles were won under manager and pioneer Herbert Chapman, who also led the team to an FA Cup win in 1922. They have been runners-up in the First Division thrice, and FA Cup runners-up four times. Town were the second team, after Blackpool, to have won all three divisional play-offs.

In the late 1950s, the club was managed by Bill Shankly, and featured Denis Law and Ray Wilson. Following relegation from the First Division in 1972, Huddersfield spent 45 years in the second, third and fourth tiers of English football, before returning to the top flight in 2017. They were relegated back to the Championship in 2019.

The team have played home games at the Kirklees Stadium since 1994, which replaced their former home of Leeds Road. The club colours of blue and white stripes were adopted in 1916. Their nickname "The Terriers" was taken in 1969. Huddersfield's current emblem is based on the town's coat of arms. The team have long-standing rivalries with nearby clubs Bradford City and Leeds United, with whom they contest the West Yorkshire derby.

AFC Bournemouth Barnsley Birmingham Blackpool Blackburn Rovers Bristol Cardiff City Coventry City Derby County Fulham Huddersfield Hull City Luton Town Middlesborough Millwall Nottingham Forest Peterborough United Preston North End Queens Park Rangers Reading Sheffield Utd Stoke City Swansea City West Bromwich Albion