Friends of Fulham - standup if you still believe

league teams season 2020/21

Wigan Athletic

the Latics
Wigan AthleticWigan Athletic
Est. 1932
Ground: DW Stadium
Manager: Paul Cook

The club was formed in 1932 following the demise of Wigan Borough the previous year. With Wigan County, Wigan United and Wigan Town also failing to establish themselves, this was fifth time lucky as far as Wigan Athletic were concerned.

Wigan hold the record for the biggest cup win by a non-league club over a league club. In the 1934/35 season, they defeated Carlisle United 6-1 in the FA Cup fifth round. This was achieved when playing in the Cheshire County League and it was not until 1978, and after appearances in the Lancashire Combination and Northern Premier League, that Wigan were elected to the Football League.

This came after numerous failed election attempts and a controversial application to join the Scottish League Second Division. They finished runners-up to Boston United in the Northern Premier League, but the latter's ground and facilities were deemed unsuitable for the Football League, and the Latics were put forward for election.

Wigan took their first step towards the Premier League in 1997 when they won the Third Division under John Deehan. Paul Jewell then earned promotion to the First Division with a points tally of 100 in 2002/03, just his second season at the club.